National Economic Council

The National Economic Council was established by the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (1999), as amended, Third Schedule, Part I, Section 153: Sub section (18 & 19). 

The National Economic Council was inaugurated by President Muhammadu Buhari on June 29, 2015. Chaired by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, the NEC, which meets monthly, has the mandate to “advise the President concerning the economic affairs of the Federation, and in particular on measures necessary for the co¬ordination of the economic planning efforts or economic programmes of the various Governments of the Federation.”

Membership of the NEC comprises of the 36 State Governors, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, National Security Adviser, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Ministers of Budget and National Planning, Finance, Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, the Accountant-General of the Federation, and other co-opted Government officials.