National Economic Council

National Economic Council


The National Economic Council (NEC) was established by the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended; Section 153(1) and Paragraphs 18 & 19 of Part I of the Third Schedule.

The National Economic Council was inaugurated by President Muhammadu Buhari on 29 June 2015. Chaired by the Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, the NEC, which meets monthly, has the mandate to “advise the President concerning the economic affairs of the Federation, and in particular on measures necessary for the coordination of the economic planning efforts or economic programmes of the various Governments of the Federation.”

Membership of the NEC comprises of the 36 State Governors, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria and other co-opted Government officials.

June 29th, 2015

Chaired by

Vice President Prof. Yemi Osinbajo


Secured By miniOrange